Fuerteventura is an island in the Canary Islands located in the Atlantic Ocean 97 km off the northwest coast of Africa. On May 26, 2009, it was declared a Unesco biosphere nature reserve. The island's capital is Puerto del Rosario (Puerto Cabras until 1956). The island's indigenous name before its conquest in the 15th century was "Erbani" with its two regions "Jandia" and "Maxorata," from which the term majorero (originally majo or maxo) is derived. Fuerteventura is the largest island in the province, and the second largest in the Canary Islands and is geologically, the oldest in the entire archipelago.

Jandía Beach

If you love the beach, but you don't like sharing it with half a million tourists, and you don't have a huge budget to go to the other side of the world, the beaches of Fuerteventura are perfect for you

Corralejo Natural Park

Corralejo Nature Park is in the municipality of La Oliva, in the northern part of the island of Fuerteventura. It is an area of white sand dunes, with the distinction of still being a wilderness area.


Cofete is a remote beach on the southern tip of the island of Fuerteventura. It is about 20 kilometers from Morro Jable, but it is worth a visit to see the breathtaking scenery.


The small town of Betancuria, which presided with its cathedral Iglesia, was until 1834 the former capital of the island. Named after the French-born founder Bethencourt as early as the 15th century, it became the political, administrative and religious center of the island.